Newtownbarry House was designed by well known Belfast Architect Sir Charles Lanyon and Partners between 1863-69. The house is situated by the River Slaney and is surrounded by lawns, ancient trees and a Sunken garden, which was restored in 2004 to coincide with the opening of the house and gardens to the public. Since then historical tours of the house have been offered showing the unique Lanyon features such as its impressive glazed barrel vaulted roof, beautiful carved staircase and mantelpieces.
Visitors are then invited to visit the Sunken garden which has its original 18th century grottos. The garden is approx. 2 acres and is a colourful walled garden which includes a formal oval pool, a fountain and a series of borders filled with shrubs and herbaceous perennials, enclosed by lines of dwarf hedges. Mature trees, a rose garden and a lake complete the picture.
Refreshments are offered in the Farm Café situated in the old servants’ hall. There is a small gift shop and an Art Gallery upstairs to view.